Archive for January 25th, 2007

The Devil made him do it

January 25, 2007

Sula,formerly known as Rose, greeted me with a warm smile in my favourite Greek restaurant in Toronto’s Greek town last night.I introduced her to my daughter Chris and Sula immediately launched into the story of why I call her Rose.

A couple of years ago I was dining witbh a priest friend and she overheard part of our conversation.

“Are you guys priests?

I always answer yes to that question.Tom just laughed.

Sula was upset about the rose which bloomed in her back yard in December. “Is it a sign of the Apocalypse?” The Book of Revelations is well known by Greeks as it was written on the isle of Patmos. Sula is a serious Orthodox Christian and needed some reassurance.

I told her that it was not a sign of the end.The Book makes no futuristic predictions though it does encourage Christians to be steadfast. A guy named Hal Lindsey has sold over 30 million books turning scripture into a comic book pastiche of end time predictions.Literalist lunacy. Don’t worry,Sula it may be global warming but it’s humans not the Creator who are advancing the Doomsday clock.Ever since then Sula has been Rose.

Tonight her question was better.

“Why do these evangelical Christians in the USA support Bush because he’s a Christian? I don’t understand how a man who has been rersponsible for the death of so many people in Iraq can be a Christian. Am I wrong?”

I told Sula that Bush has dragged Christianity to new depths and those people who think he represents the ethic of Jesus are confused or more precisely, they’ve been hornswaggled.

Tomorrow I am sending 84 year old former Senator George McGovern’s latest take on the worst president of the 20th century.

“Sir, when reporter Bob Woodward asked you if you had consulted with your father before ordering our army into Iraq you said, “No, he’s not the father you call on a decision like this. I talked to my heavenly Father above.” My question, Mr. President, if God asked you to bombard, invade and occupy Iraq for four years, why did he send an opposite
message to the Pope? Did you not know that your father, George Bush, Sr., his Secretary of State James Baker and his National Security Advisor General Scowcroft were all opposed to your invasion? Wouldn’t you, our troops, the American people and the Iraqis all be much better off if you had listened to your more experienced elders including your earthly father? Instead of blaming God for the awful catastrophe you have unleashed in Iraq, wouldn’t it have been less self-righteous if you had fallen back on the oft-quoted explanation of wrongdoing, “The devil made me do it?” “

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers