The Red SoX, Bill Lynch and Me

images

I am 11 and it is yesterday, 63 years ago,

St.Peter’s are holding try outs for the pee wee team. A World War ll vet who now reads water meters for the city, Bill Lynch is running the practice  on the far west field of Christie Pits.

I am a skinny kid weighing about 65 pounds and  I am taking batting practice.

I hit a line drive over shortstop and  the tall thin man Lynch yells,”What did you say your name is, Ted Williams?”

images

I immediately put on 10 pounds and grow a foot.

Ted Williams was now my man and The Red Sox were my team.

And i never forgot the power of words and affirmation of Bill Lynch.

Years later I thanked him for this.

The Red sox won the Wold Series but I remember Ted Williams and Bill Lynch.

And I still  11.

 

Leave a Reply

